November Beauty

November is one of those months. The once colorful leaves now brown and crisp, the skies more gray than blue, brisk and foreboding northern winds, less sunlight…more darkness

A barren time of year.

image

Bleak.

A word that often describes the month of November.

Even poets write wistfully about November…

Yea, I have looked, and seen November there;
The changeless seal of change it seemed to be,
Fair death of things that, living once, were fair;
Bright sign of loneliness too great for me,
Strange image of the dread eternity,
In whose void patience how can these have part,
These outstretched feverish hands, this restless heart?

– William Morris

image

Here in Vermont, it is a month to endure. A month of preparation, battening down the hatches so to speak. The weather unpredictable, the cold and damp giving us a taste of things to come…

Yet…somehow our spirit perseveres. Perhaps it is the thought of upcoming celebrations. Or the excitement of knowing the first snow is coming. Or cherishing those gifts of infrequent sunny days, and remembering there is so much to be thankful for.

 We turn inward as the world outside hunkers down for winter. It is a time for reflection and hibernation…

image

I am determined to find and experience the un-bleakness of November…or to celebrate the beauty of bleakness. Because if you look hard enough…and close enough, it’s there.

Under my feet…

In the meadows…

On frosty mornings…

In the woods…

Above me…

That invincible summer that Albert Camus speaks of is within us all. Our human spirit that allows us, in the midst of bleakness, to find November beauty.

7 thoughts on “November Beauty

  1. Magnificent photography. When in an introspective period, I become intensely aware of each detail of the outer world, and am both amazed and humbled by the connection of the two.

  2. This was an outstanding post, Tracy! I did not feel it reflected the bleakness but the beauty of November. I do think that by January, I will feeling my seasonal “depression” of hunkering down. This has still a lot of color and light! I loved the beautiful skies! Thanks for this to make me think, too…. Changes ahead. I am grateful for the holidays to “cheer me up for now!”

    • Thank you Robin! I think by January I will feel it too:-) I will then go in search of January beauty!!! The holidays are always good for cheering us up. I always have such a hard time though…I got sober right after New Years in 1991… And my husband died right before Christmas in 2001. Always seems to be a tough time for me…so I especially cherish those times with my loved ones!

Leave a Reply

