Two Hour Delay

It doesn’t happen very often. In fact, I think in the 28 years I’ve been teaching, I can count them on one hand. Snow days are plentiful, but not delays.

At first, I didn’t know what to do. “All schools in the Chittenden East School District are delayed 2 hours”. I had already showered. I was dressed and ready to go.

So I went. I headed to work.

Somewhere between home and the entrance to the interstate, I decided to take a different route.

I’ve noticed on my morning commute this week some interesting things happening.

Last week the thaw. This week the bitter cold.

Here was an opportunity to look more closely and capture natures’ wondrous adaptation to this extreme temperature change.

The temperature outside read -10. But the sun was rising and with it…breathtaking sights.

image

I found places to pull off.

The sun rose higher and higher. I took turns down unfamiliar roads so I could follow the river.

image

image

The warmer water reacted with the bitter air. Plumes of vapor rose…coating the trees with frost. The sun shimmering and reflecting.

My fingers frozen. It’s hard to take pictures with gloves on. But every turn and bend in the river and road…something magical would catch my eye.

I glanced at the time. My two hour delay dwindling. I made one final stop before getting on the interstate to finish my commute.

image

And made it to work on time.

24 thoughts on “Two Hour Delay

  1. Thank you friend for sharing this article quite interesting, hopefully we all get real happiness yamg rays began to warm our hearts and make the heart glad, when we can share it with sincere to each other. Affectionate greetings from Gede Prama 🙂 🙂

  2. Pingback: Frost Fairies, Pas de Deux | Friendly Fairy Tales

  3. On the west coast and environs it is unseasonably warm. I love the cold and love these photos. I also enjoyed your story behind them. I often take my camera with me in the mornings but never detour on my way to work or my way home. What I must be missing. The mist off the water in your shots is definitely magical.

  4. I thoroughly loved your two hour delay’s worth of photographs! The sunrise, the glowing sky with the clouds in pastel colors and then, that wonderful winding river! Fantastic post, Tracy!
    I nominated you for the Sunshine Award! It took my all of two hours here at the library to write it! You are invited to pick up your nomination and attend my picnic! Smiles, Robin

Leave a Reply

