Fire Tower

There is something exhilarating about climbing a fire tower. And there are quite a few of these relics scattered around our state. Sitting atop mountains…a remnant from the past. No longer in use. Technology having taken their place.

I have climbed a few in my day.

Usually after a challenging hike…a bonus reward at the summit…not just a spectacular view but a fire tower too.

Today, for whatever reason, I had a yearning to climb one of those towers. I didn’t want to do a huge mountain hike though, wading through two feet of fresh snow…but I wanted the reward of a tower.

Luckily for me there is a fire tower nearby. Practically in my backyard. Or 7 miles  over in the next town.

Allis State Park.

image

I discovered it this fall. And I fell in love. Not only is it secluded and lovely, but there is a fire tower.

It’s not easy to find. Closed in the winter. The sign taken down. The road to the gate barely plowed.

image

What a perfect day. It was cold…the sun and blue skies deceptive. But I was dressed for it and excited to make the mile long snowshoe trek up to the fire tower.

God bless snowmobilers…they had recently traveled through the park making my trek much easier.

image

The snow from the recent storm coats the trees, branches bending from the weight of it. The brilliant sun casts long and intricate shadows.

The snowmobile trail ends and we make our own tracks…sinking far into the snow…

image

Until the tower appears…

image

It looms and stretches upward..its steel supports strong and enduring.

I take off my snowshoes and prepare to ascend.

I don’t have a fear of heights…yet looking up and seeing the top…so far away…isn’t easy. Your legs tremble a bit…your breath catches…and your stomach does a few somersaults.

I stop part way up.  Even there the view is stunning…

But it is the top…the 360 degree views that take your breath away.

Orion waits for me…down below. He’s not a fan of fire tower stairs…

image

The wind whips around the tower…but the sun is warm on my face. I don’t want to leave.

I take a deep breath and inhale the view one last time…

image

And descend…

18 thoughts on “Fire Tower

  1. They have a tower similar to this in Gettysburg. Breathtaking views from the top, but striking on its own. I love that you thought to visit in winter, and that you brought us along for the spectacular views.

    • They are pretty amazing structures!! And that they are battered so much from the elements and stay standing…although many in our state haven’t survived! If I ever get down that way I will visit it!! Glad you enjoyed coming along on our adventure!!!!

  2. You always take us to interesting places. I always enjoy the ‘heights’ you take us on, safely so we won’t fall but still get to enjoy the views! Beautiful scenery today, again! Smiles, Robin

  3. Oh, I meant to add that the structure with the light of the sun was awesome and the different shadows of the trees, their blue imprints on the white glistening snow were amazing photographs, Tracy! I am always happy to get to see where you have explored. A hug for this! Robin

  4. Looks like you picked the perfect day for your hike. Strenuous in unbroken snow, even with snowshoes. I am far too tired for such a trek, and delighted to share in yours. Hugs, Brenda

Leave a Reply

