Swinger of Birches

Robert Frost.

I drove by his house today. And the lovely park memorializing his poetry and celebrating his love of the natural world.

Phrases from his poems poignant and beautiful, often travel through my head.

“…So was I once myself a swinger of birches.
And so I dream of going back to be.
It’s when I’m weary of considerations,
And life is too much like a pathless wood
Where your face burns and tickles with the cobwebs
Broken across it, and one eye is weeping
From a twig’s having lashed across it open.
I’d like to get away from earth awhile
And then come back to it and begin over.
May no fate willfully misunderstand me
And half grant what I wish and snatch me away
Not to return. Earth’s the right place for love:
I don’t know where it’s likely to go better.
I’d like to go by climbing a birch tree,
And climb black branches up a snow-white trunk
Toward heaven, till the tree could bear no more,
But dipped its top and set me down again.
That would be good both going and coming back.
One could do worse than be a swinger of birches.”
Bits and pieces. A few words here and there.
Never whole verses.
Today
The birches inspired me…they reminded me…and they comforted me.
Just as Robert Frost’s poems often do.
It has been a very long winter. But spring is coming.
Until then, I’ll be a swinger of birches…
image
9 thoughts on “Swinger of Birches

  1. What a lovely collection of birch trees. I liked the poem, your own words and the photos! The way you included his actual house. the carved words and the old, rugged bridge was awesome! Just perfect, Tracy! Smiles, Robin

      • Strange but personal story, I won’t worry about having this shared here. I know that he won’t read this. But my youngest daughter’s father has contacted her, she is the one with closure problems. Wishes she had been more in his life. We are going to dinner with him and his brother in law. I suppose I have had to “pay” for this guilt in choosing when she was only 6 months old, “No child support for no visitation.” I just felt that he was already unfaithful (with someone I knew) and wanted to just start on in a new town with my 3 kids. She kind of feels she missed out, even thought I tell her that she had the best grandpa ever and great uncles, too! They all thought his decision to fool around would wear me down, I had a hard time resisting him… Anyway, we are sitting down to eat a meal on Sat. night at a public place. Hope it all goes down okay! Otherwise, no news is good news, Tracy! Smiles, Robin

Leave a Reply

