Rocks In My Head

I have a thing for rocks. In fact it might be called an obsession. I can look at them for hours. I am fascinated by their shape, color, texture, and uniqueness. Like fingerprints. And just as often, I find myself taking some home, filling my pockets or backpack. There are rocks in my car. There are rocks in my house. I’m beginning to think there are rocks in my head…

Rocks tell a story about the place they are found and about our earth. Rocks have gone through cycles and changes. Rocks endure and transform. They get battered and tossed around in raging rivers and ocean tides. They undergo extremes temperatures and pressure. They can be polished smooth or left rough. Each one beautiful in its own way.

Rocks have a mysterious side as well. A sacredness to their ability to withstand time and the elements. They are present everywhere and have been used to navigate and guide and mark spiritual places upon the land.

Rocks symbolize strength, stability, and being grounded. They represent different things to different cultures and throughout history. They are a source of power and healing. They are mined and quarried and examined and even coveted.

Mountains are made of rock. Violently thrusted and forced upward from the earth to form towering peaks. Steep and treacherous pinnacles to gentle rolling hills.

Rocks broken down over time become sand. And then begin changing again…back into a rock. Different yet in some ways the same. Combining with new minerals, forming bonds, and rebuilding. To see the world in a grain of sand…is not just the start of a lovely William Blake poem…but a way of seeing things from a new and clearer perspective. Slowing down and truly noticing the infinite beauty of the world around us.

image

Maybe having rocks in my head isn’t such a bad thing after all…

image

17 thoughts on “Rocks In My Head

  1. I have smooth rocks from the lake, pieces of worn glass and ceramics, too. I keep them in jars. In my cup holders, there are rocks, one with a great fossil in it. I liked to have the preschoolers ‘water’ table full of rocks, at least one month a year. We chose in the fall, leaves or oatmeal with toy tractors to go through them, then there was water, sand, snow, and other neat things to use. I brought home Buckets of Lake Erie rocks, emptying them below each of my bird feeders and bird baths. I liked the bigger ones, to be around the gardens… Smiles, Robin

Leave a Reply

