A Sunday Stroll

At least that’s what it was meant to be.

A leisurely walk in Groton State Forest, on a gloriously warm Sunday afternoon.

I had noticed on a map that there were some ponds in the forest that I had never seen. It seemed like the perfect kind of day and a perfect kind of walk to a perfect kind of destination. It didn’t involve steep mountains or climbing up rocks. Just a simple stroll through the woods.

image

The trail from the parking lot meandered slowly through the woods and then connected with what’s known as the rail trail. An old railroad bed converted into biking, hiking, and walking trails.

image

We had already walked about a mile. I thought the ponds couldn’t be too far away.

On the side of the trail a bog appeared. I knew we must be getting close.

The trail continued. I walked and enjoyed and took pictures. My mind empty of thoughts. Simply enjoying the beauty around me. Noticing signs of change, yet summer still very much around me.

I drank from my water bottle feeling happy and at peace. What a lovely day.

image

Walking. And walking. and walking some more. Thinking around each bend in the trail a pond would appear. Another mile passed and then another. I began to wonder. Maybe I couldn’t see the pond from the trail. Maybe it was hidden deeper in the woods. Perhaps the bog had been the pond at one time. Maps are often outdated.

And just as I thought about turning around. It did appear around a bend.

image

And it was stunning. Breathtaking. Magnificent.

I kept walking. Savoring and marveling at the water, the reflections, the view.

And then another smaller pond appeared. And it was just as magnificent.

I looked around. The trail connected to a road. And I thought that if I followed it, I would come back out to where the parking lot was, instead of going back the way I had come. And so I continued walking.

After another mile I wondered if I might be heading in the wrong direction. A couple riding their bicycles stopped to chat and I asked “Where does this road lead?”. Marshfield they answered. And I realized it wouldn’t take me back to the parking lot. I would have to go back the way I came.

image

So I turned around.

A Sunday stroll of 8 miles. I slept well that night.

8 thoughts on “A Sunday Stroll

  1. Your posts always inspire me to think. I like that you pushed on just a little bit more to find the beautiful spot you were looking for. A good reminder for me.

      • it was years ago when we lived in plain field that dakota our old yellow lab and i went on a similar walk in the groton forest. it was january a bright cold morning it had snowed that night a light puffy snow. the sun was bright .the day clear the snow sparkled. we found a spot to park deap inside the forest .i rem ember how fast dakota jumped from the car and found the narrrow trail that would lead around the pond. it was covered in deep snow. the pond was not large and we were soon back at the car shaking snow from our feet as we entered sun warmed car. your dad with love

Leave a Reply

