Letting Go

The time has come. It’s time to let go.

I’m ready.

    I have been moving in this direction for a while now.

image

Turning over stones, examining dark corners, and digging deep.

image

Peeling away the layers that have wrapped themselves around my heart.

image

    I have been remembering.

image

And I have put the many wonderful memories in a good place.

image

There is no lingering sadness, anger or resentment.

image

Only understanding, compassion, and acceptance.

image

I have been feeling. Despair and pain. Hurt and betrayal. Lost and alone.

image

And then joy and peace and gratitude.

image

For everything in life is either a lesson, a blessing, or a gift.

image

This was a gift.

It gave me back myself. It showed me I could open my heart all the way.

image

I could love with every part of my being.

image

And that I can still grow and learn and believe.

image

I’ve learned the difference between letting go and holding on. I choose to let go.

image

Because letting go is the serenity to accept the things I cannot change, the courage to change the things I can, and the wisdom to know the difference.

image

Letting go is opening a door, and clearing a path and setting myself free.

image

And so I hugged him, told him I had loved him with all my heart, and then I let him go.

image

23 thoughts on “Letting Go

  1. I could say so much about acceptance and the lovely photos, but it’s the lessons you have learned and the recognition of the gift–and that you have been given yourself back. 🙂 This was a very strong and inspiring post. Thanks!

  2. good for you, Tracy, I know how hard it had been this past year, you have had a lot of thing to let go of, Rich, Paul, your home, you have done a phenomenal job. Hope you are not stopping your blog, though, we love reading it, love, mom and dad

Leave a Reply

