Quarries and Metaphors

It’s no secret, my love for the abandoned quarries. I am smitten. I am captivated. I’m in love. And every time I go there I find more to love.

image

But I had never been there in the fall. And so this weekend I went. And I fell further in love with these remnants from long ago. And I discovered more than I could have ever imagined.

image

Fall at the quarries is glorious.

image

Like anything there is so much more than just what’s on the surface. These scarred towering rocks and deep holes filled with shimmering water, tell a story. They tell of mans’ strength, determination, and spirit.

The piles of grout create mountains and things grow up on these mountains. From the wreckage and waste…new life begins. Standing on these enormous hills is breathtaking. The world lays open from every angle to savor and enjoy.

These rocks weather extremely well which is why they are chosen to grace so many building facades and memorials. They can survive all types of storms, and remain unchanged. Granite is not only strong and enduring but multifaceted.

image

I often think of these magnificent quarries as a metaphor.

image

A metaphor for my life.

Like the granite, I have survived and endured many a storm. And like the quarries, deep below the surface within my heart, is a fierce determination and resilient spirit.

image

And so, I am drawn to these quarries…

image

They remind me.

image

And they inspire me.

19 thoughts on “Quarries and Metaphors

  1. I find your quarries gorgeous! When I mention Blue Limestone Park, which was a quarry, it is so small in comparison. Tracy, these are such outstanding photographs, the blue in the sky and the reflections are perfectly captured. The metaphor is also one that resonates with me, the other day I was humming, “I’m Still Standing,” by Elton John. Definitely wish that my life would have been a little ‘easier’ at times, but am glad to still be here! The owls were sweet and your use of the description of “magnificent” is spot on. I agree with the word, no doubt about it. Hugs, Robin

    • Thank you Robin! I love reading your comments they always make my day!!! I’m still standing too!! Life is what it is and we are both ok!!❤️❤️❤️

  2. Just beautiful. I love the metaphor. While I feel like I’m made of jello sometimes, your description of granite reminding us that we are stronger than we give ourselves credit for.

Leave a Reply

