A Year of Grace

This year, my word is grace. It is a word that can mean many things to different people. It means many different things to me…

All things I aspire to be, feel and experience.

image

As I think about my life and where my journeys have taken me and where they may lead me, I believe that grace is the perfect word as I begin this new chapter.

image

Defining grace isn’t easy though so I looked to others for help…

“Gracefulness has been defined to be the outward expression of the inward harmony of the soul.”  William Hazlitt

And then I thought about what grace means to me. Fortunately I am surrounded by grace. Nature knows what grace is.

image

The smell of the earth after a thunderstorm

image

The sound of waves as they kiss the shore

image

The quiet hush of snow falling

image

The tender flowers blooming in the spring

image

The leaves gently rustling in breeze

image

The feel of the warm sun upon your face

image

The enchantment of discovering magical places

image

The reverence for the beauty that is all around us

image

Grace is integrity and honor. It is doing the next right thing. It is moving forward and not having regrets. It is the small courageous voice that keeps us going.

image

It is growth and learning and the wisdom that comes from sadness and pain. It is surrendering and letting go and turning over. Grace is crying and laughing. It is small moments and small miracles. It is open hearts and open arms.

image

It is blessings and gratitude. It is faith and the deep belief that it will all be ok. It is finding serenity and peace. It is hope and optimism and truth. It is the hand of a child and the kindness of a stranger. It is friendship and compassion.

image

Grace is light and love

image

Most of all, I think grace is the ability to be still, take gentle breaths, and fall in love with life again.

image

Here’s to my year of grace.

13 thoughts on “A Year of Grace

  1. All your photos are wonderful, but the first one is stunning. Your second to the last line is perfect. Wishing you a graceful year full of gentle breaths, stillness, and find love with life.

Leave a Reply

