My Secret Garden

Someone recently told me that I have a secret garden inside of me. And when I heard this…I knew it to be true.

It is deep in my heart. Deep inside where my spirit lives. Deep inside where it has laid dormant for a very long time.

image

I think I had forgotten it was there. Buried under the overgrown weeds and tangled branches. The debris and wreckage that comes from loss and heartache. Piled so thick so that no sunlight could reach it.

image

Slowly though, I have pulled away the piles and the layers to uncover what has been asleep and buried. The garden of my heart.

And in this uncovering, a wondrous and amazing thing has happened. The garden has come back to life. In fact it’s bursting with buds and blooms. It’s big and bright and vibrant. It’s rich and earthy and warm. It’s full of hope and joy…

And most of all…love

image

As a child, I was enchanted by the story ” The Secret Garden”. Today, as a grown woman, I am discovering my very own secret garden. And I don’t want to keep it a secret. I want to share it with the world.

Because in the words of Francis Hodgson Burnett, author of “The Secret Garden”

It blooms and blooms and every morning new miracles are revealed.

image

So I am sharing this garden I’ve found with others. Please come visit it anytime:

http://www.facebook.com/thegardenofrecovery

What better time than spring, the season of rebirth, to discover your own secret garden.

8 thoughts on “My Secret Garden

  1. These really are quite lovely photos. I love the ice one. I used to do a great deal of winter paddling and these little ‘bells of ice’ that formed on twigs and reeds etc lined my way. Thanks for sharing!

  2. Like the rainbow of colors your secret garden glows and makes me feel renewed. Your ice formation heart is precious, Tracy. While your real heart is warm! Smiles!

Leave a Reply

